

Heather Parry Project Director – Parkes to Narromine Project Australian Rail Track Corporation Level 16, 180 Ann Street Brisbane QLD 4000

15/04/2021

Dear Heather

Inland Rail Parkes to Narromine (SSI 7475) Extension to Condition E20 – Retirement of Biodiversity Credits

I refer to your letter dated 31 March 2021 requesting an extension to the timeframe for the retirement of biodiversity credits required by condition E20 of the Inland Rail – Parkes to Narromine Conditions of Approval (SSI 7475) by six (6) months.

The Department notes that condition E20 requires the retirement of the biodiversity credits within 12 months of approval of the Parkes to Narromine Biodiversity Offset Strategy (being 9 July 2021), or within another timeframe agreed to by the Planning Secretary.

The Department acknowledges that ARTC has worked with the Biodiversity Conservation Trust (BCT) to ensure that its Biodiversity Stewardship Agreement (BSA) applications are progressed as quickly as possible but understands that due to matters out of BCT's control these BSA applications can't be processed in time for ARTC to meet the 9 July 2021 timeframe for the retirement of its biodiversity credits.

The Department has carefully reviewed the information provided in your letter and although satisfied that it is reasonable to extend the timeframe based on the information you have provided, it is recommended that the extension only be granted for 3-months.

Therefore, as nominee of the Planning Secretary I grant an extension of time for three (3) months, with the biodiversity credits required to be retired by 9 October 2021. In addition, I request monthly status updates be prepared and submitted to the Department outlining the progress of the BSA applications, including reasonable steps taken by ARTC to resolve any issues raised by BCT.

If you have any further queries or require clarification on this matter, please contact Matthew Todd-Jones on <u>Matthew.Todd-Jones@planning.nsw.gov.au</u>.

Yours sincerely,

an chargeton

Jake Shackleton A/Director - Infrastructure Management

As nominee of the Planning Secretary