21 May, 2012

Megan Fu

NSW Department of Planning Ground floor, 23-33 Bridge Street, SYDNEY NSW 2000 GPO Box 39 SYDNEY NSW 2001

Dear Megan,

Newcastle Museum - Entrance Gates MP 06_0083 MOD 2

Following on from the correspondence from Heritage Council as forwarded to our office on 16/09/2011, we advise that Newcastle City Council in conjunction with the project's heritage architects, Clive Lucas Stapleton and Partners, the gate designer, James Collis and the structural engineers, Taylor Thomson Whitting have reviewed the design of the gates to provide a more contemporary response.

We have attached a letter of support from Clive Lucas Stapleton and Partners and also the revised gate design. The letter discusses the impact of the revised gate design to the overall visual character of the group of historic buildings and discusses how the gates now will relate to the adjacent elements. All work will be reversible.

As previously outlined in the revised submission to Department of Planning (19/12/2011) there is no alternative option which will adequately address the security of the entrance forecourt of the Museum. Unfortunately the current situation in the immediate vicinity of the Museum, has not improved. FJMT had previously explored alternative locations for the gates, however these locations did not adequately address the security nor the required fire egress solution.

We trust that the revised gate design is now acceptable to Department of Planning.

Yours sincerely,

Elizabeth Carpenter Principal

cc Fiona Leatham NCC Sean Johnson CLSP

enc. 19/12/11 Revised Section 75W Submission (reattached for convenience) Revised design sketches as supplied by James Collis, NCC 21/05/12 Correspondence from CLSP.



ARCHITECTURE LANDSCAPE URBAN DESIGN INTERIORS

LEVEL 5 70 KING STREET SYDNEY NSW 2000 AUSTRALIA TELEPHONE +61 2 9251 7077 FACSIMILE +61 2 9251 7072 fjmt@fjmt.com.au www.fjmt.com.au

FRANCIS-JONES MOREHEN THORP PTY LTD ACN 101 197 219 ABN 28 101 197 219 NOMINATED ARCHITECT RICHARD FRANCIS-JONES REG NO 5301

DIRECTORS

RICHARD FRANCIS-JONES JEFF MOREHEN PRINCIPALS

ELIZABETH CARPENTER GEOFF CROKER RICHARD DESGRAND DAVID HASELER CHRISTINE KWONG JOHNATHAN REDMAN MATTHEW TODD

SENIOR ASSOCIATES ANNIE HENSLEY SEAN MCPEAKE LANCE WHITE ADRIAN YAP

ASSOCIATES SIMON BARR JANINE DESHON JAMES PERRY LINA SJOGREN