





ABN 182 467 92704

Address all Correspondence to: GRCCC C/- Hurstville City Council PO Box 205, Hurstville BC NSW 1481 Ph: 9330 6057 E: skotevska@hurstville.nsw.gov.au W: www.georgesriver.org.au

25 June 2015

NSW Department of Planning and Environment Attention: Director, Infrastructure Projects Planning Systems GPO Box 39 SYDNEY NSW 2001

Dear Sir or Madam,

Re: State Significant development 5066 & EPBC 2011/6086 Moorebank Intermodal Terminal - Response to Submissions report

The Georges River Combined Councils' Committee Inc. (GRCCC) is a body established by nine member Councils that collectively represents over 1 million people in the Sydney region. The GRCCC collaborates on a wide range of initiatives and coordinates natural resource management across the Georges River catchment. The GRCCC aims to protect, enhance and conserve the Georges River by working in partnership with state and federal government agencies that all have a collective responsibility for the long term health and amenity of the river.

The GRCCC and in particular Liverpool City Council are opposed to the development of the Moorebank Intermodal Terminal due to concerns over the adverse impacts on the Georges River as outlined in our submission dated 24 November 2014 relating to:-

- 1. Impacts on Water Quality of the Georges River
- 2. Impacts on Biodiversity and loss of habitat
- 3. Impacts of litter on the Georges River

The MIC comments on our submission contained in *Chapter 6 of the Response to Submissions report* does not address our underlying concerns for the Georges River as stated in our original submission.

The GRCCC is calling on both the State and Federal government to reconsider this development proposal and protect the biodiversity and the water quality of the Georges River. The long-term management of the Georges River and its catchment can only be achieved by councils, state and federal agencies working together. Should you require further information please contact Svetlana Kotevska on 9330 6057.

Yours Sincerely

Jalan

Svetlana Kotevska GRCCC Program Manager

Incorporating: Bankstown City Council; Campbelltown City Council; Fairfield City Council; Hurstville City Council; Kogarah City Council; Liverpool City Council; Rockdale City Council; Sutherland Shire Council; Wollondilly Shire Council Proudly hosted by Hurstville City Council, 2009-2016 Chairperson: Councillor Naji Peter Najjar