

Zina Ainsworth Manager Environment and Community Tahmoor Coal Pty Ltd

24/06/2021

Dear Ms Ainsworth

Tahmoor South Project (SSD 8445) Approval to combine Tahmoor Mine Community Consultative Committees (CCC) and appointment of independent chair

I refer to your request dated 8 June 2021 for approval to combine the Tahmoor South Project Community Consultative Committee (CCC) with the existing Tahmoor Coal CCC and appoint Mr Michael Muston as the independent chair to the combined CCC.

Condition A26 of schedule 2 of SSD 8445 provides for the Tahmoor South Project CCC to be combined with the CCC for the existing Tahmoor Mine. The Department acknowledges that the Tahmoor South Project and existing Tahmoor Mine will be managed in an integrated manner by Tahmoor Coal. Accordingly, the Department supports Tahmoor Coal's request to combine the Tahmoor South Project CCC with the existing Tahmoor Coal CCC.

In combining the CCCs, the Department requests that Tahmoor Coal:

- review the operation of the CCC to confirm it is operating in accordance with the Department's Community Consultative Committee Guideline for State Significant Projects (2019), and
- refresh membership of the CCC to ensure appropriate community representation across the combined project area.

I advise that Mr Michael Muston has been approved as Chair of the combined Tahmoor Mine CCC required to be established as per condition 47 of schedule 2 of the conditions of consent for DA 67/98 and condition A26 of schedule 2 of SSD 8445. Mr Muston is considered an appropriate chairperson based on his proven track record in convening and managing stakeholder committees with independence, including in his ongoing role as Chair of the existing Tahmoor Coal CCC.

It would be appreciated if you could advise Mr Muston of his successful appointment as independent chair of the combined Tahmoor Mine CCC.

If you wish to discuss the matter further, please contact Gabrielle Allan on (02) 9585 6078 or gabrielle.allan@dpie.nsw.gov.au.

Yours sincerely

Stephen O'Donoghue

Director

Resource Assessments

As nominee of the Planning Secretary