Listed below are the leaders in museology, architecture, engineering, lighting, design and exhibition design who, along with the Museum's Board of Trustees, staff, volunteers, patrons, sponsors and donors, were responsible for delivering this world class, innovative museum in 10 years at a total cost of \$130 million (1988 \$).

POWERHOUSE MUSEUM PROJECT 1978 - 1988

Director: Dr Lindsay Sharp

Designers and Engineers

Architect: Lionel Glendenning, Principal Architect, Public Buildings, Government Architect's Office, NSW Public Works Dept

Heritage: Don Godden, Godden Mackay

Structural Engineer: Ian Norrie, Bond James Laron

Services and Mechanical: Dave Rowe, NSW Public Works Dept

Lighting Design: Barry Webb

Acoustic Design: Wilkinson Murray

Interior Design: George Freedman

Exhibition Design: Richard Johnson, Denton Corker Marshall

Iain Halliday, David Katon, Neil Burley, Burley Katon Halliday

Desmond Freeman, Desmond Freeman and Associates

Powerhouse Museum Exhibition Design Dept led by Brad Baker

with Susan Freeman.

Graphic Design: Garry Emery, Emery Vincent

Boardroom Furniture: Iain Halliday, Burley Katon Halliday

Executive Offices: curtains: Glenda Morgan, Reptilia Design

AWARDS: POWERHOUSE MUSEUM 1988

RAIA Architectural Awards NSW 1988

Sir John Sulman Award for Public Buildings: Powerhouse Museum (Government Architect's Office, Lionel Glendenning, principal architect)

ACROD Award for barrier free circulation: Powerhouse Museum

RAIA National Architectural Awards 1988

RAIA Belle Award for Interiors

- RAIA President's Award for the recycling or new use of a building
- RAIA Sir Zelman Cowen Award: finalist

Awards:

1988 Illuminating Engineering Society of Australia's Meritorious Award for display lighting in NSW

Westpac Museum of the Year Award 1988

Australian Tourism Commission's Best Tourist Attraction in Australia Award for 1988